IFEWU logo International Foundation for Ewha Womans University
Home News Contribute Donors Helen Kim Society Presidents Message Board of Directors About Us Contact

Helen Kim Society

Dr. Helen Kim, the 7th president of Ewha (1939 to 1961), was a remarkable woman who dedicated her life to making Ewha prosper and helping open up the future for young women of Korea. Forty years ago, in 1970, Dr. Kim and a group of friends from North America gathered together to dream a dream — a big dream. They formed a Foundation that would assemble resources and funds, provide scholarship assistance, and tell the story of a small but mighty university: Ewha Womans University. Throughout the decades, many others have joined and participated in supporting the growth of Ewha and the Foundation.

Forty years later, in 2010, International Foundation of Ewha Womans University launches Helen Kim Society in memory of Dr. Kim’s dedication and love for Ewha and in commemoration of the Foundation’s 40 years service.

The Society consists of two parts: the Helen Kim Heritage Society includes donors who include Ewha Foundation in their will, and the Helen Kim Leadership Society includes donors who give over $100,000 towards scholarships.

Members are awarded the “Alice Appenzeller Award” (an honoring certificate), which recognizes the special role of Alice Appenzeller in the history of the Foundation. With special acknowledgement by the Foundation President, member names will be published in the Newsletter and Website.

These generous gifts are used to support deserving students in need of financial assistance.

Helen Kim Leadership Society
Drs. Hai Won Chang & Soon Man Rhim Scholarship
Heeyul Lee Cho Scholarship
Barbara Eunok Yang Choi Scholarship
Margaret Okhi Park Choun Scholarship
Myung Sook Ha Chung Scholarship
Myung Soon Woo Chung Scholarship
Dr. Chang Hyun Shin Geer Scholarship
Yaun Dahm Yoo Han Scholarship
Hong, Kyung Joo Scholarship
Sunwha Hong Scholarship
Marian Sharrocks Intemann Memorial Scholarship (Mrs. Suzanne Nelson)
Choon-Hi Choi Kahng Memorial Scholarship (Rev. Raymond Kahng & Children)
Shin Hyung Kim Memorial Scholarship (Dr. John Young Song Kim)
Young Za Kim Scholarship
Gary & Seungsoon Konarska Scholarship
Drs. Bumsun & Hyang Won Lee Medical Scholarship
Byung Joon & Bok Hyung Lee Scholarship
Hwain Chang Lee Scholarship
P. William Lee Scholarship
Sook Hyun Lee Scholarship
Dr. Young Mo & Mrs. Sang Yeon Kim Lee Scholarship
Dr. Young-hee Lowe Scholarship
Jung Hwa Lee Park Scholarship
Drs. Moonja Chung & Chanjong Park Medical Fund
Dr. Young Sook Park Medical Research Fund (Dr. Philip Mcgann)
Hak He Rhee & Chong Soo Pyun Scholarship
Kilchai K. Yim Endowment for Administration
Kilchai K. Yim Scholarship
Chicago Alumnae Association Scholarship
Detroit Alumnae Scholarship
Houston Alumnae Scholarship
Medical School Research (Medical School Alumnae Association)
New York Alumnae Association Scholarship
Northern California (San Francisco) Alumnae Association Scholarship
Southern California Alumnae Association Scholarship
Alumnae Association of Greater Washington Scholarship

Helen Kim Heritage Society
Dr. Hai Won Chang
Mrs. Meesang Ahn Chang
Drs. Ira & Chang Hyun Shin Geer
Dr. John Young Song Kim
Dr. Jong H. Lee
Drs. William & Hwain Lee
Mr. Richard Smith & Dr. Soon-Young Yoon
Drs. Amin & Jung Jin Kim El-Mallawany

©2013 International Foundation for Ewha Womans University, Inc.
475 Riverside Drive, Room 1505
New York, NY 10115
212 864-5759  |  ewhafdn@gmail.com